Follow Us

For more festival highlights, follow us on social media!

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /var/www/wp-content/themes/xpo/framework/modules/title/title-functions.php on line 467


The 5th GPIFF award winners announced

VANCOUVER, BC – The 5th Vancouver Golden Panda International Film Festival revealed all award-winners at the 5th GPIFF Awards Ceremony on December 10, 2017.

Selected by the esteemed Festival Jury, all 14 Golden Panda awards were presented to winning filmmakers.

And the winners are:

Feature Film

Best Picture: The Song of Sway Lake, dir. Ari Gold (USA)


My Love Sinema, dir. Tan Ai Leng

Dogs and Fools, dir. Ali Mohammad Ghasemi

Best Director: Ali Mohammad Ghasemi, Dogs and Fools (Iran)


Kate Brooks, The Last Animals (USA)

Ari Gold, The Song of Sway Lake (USA)

Best Actor: Luka Kain, Saturday Church (USA)


Tosh Zhang, My Love Sinema (Singapore)

Robert Sheehan, The Song of Sway Lake (USA)

Best Actress: Mary Beth Peil, The Song of Sway Lake (USA)


Bryony Byrne, Akela (United Kingdom)

Kimerbly Persona, Princess Sparkly Butt and the Hot Dog Kid (Canada)

Best Screenplay: Akela, Screenplay by Bryony Byrne (United Kingdom)


My Love Sinema, Screenplay by Sek Yieng Bon, Tan Ai Leng (Singapore)

The Song of Sway Lake, Screenplay by Ari Gold, Elizabeth Bull (USA)

Short Film

Best Short Film: The School Bag, dir. Dheeraj Jindal (India)


Seher, dir. Manas Shashidharan Jacob (India)

The Ravens, dir. Jennifer Perrott (Australia)

Best Director for Short Film: Alexander Briere & Jonah Fortin, Charlie (Canada)


Dheeraj Jindal, The School Bag (India)

Manas Shashidharan Jacob, Seher (India)

Best Screenplay for Short Film: Breakfast With Tiffany, Screenplay by Andrés Molano Moncada (Columbia)


Under One Small Star, Screenplay Ziyi Zheng (USA)

The Story of 90 Coins, Screenplay Michael Wong (China)

Special Categories

Best Documentary: The Last Animals, dir. Kate Brooks (United Kingdom/USA)


Jue er, dir. Liang Zhefei (China)

Perfume War, dir. Michael Melski (Canada)

Best Animated Film: Borderline, dir. Seishi Irimajiri (Denmark)


Barkley, dir. Li-Wei Chiu (Taiwan)

Little Thing, dir. Or Kan tor (Israel)

Best Humanistic Vision: Crested Ibis, dir. Qiao Liang (China)


Salvation, dir. Orkenbek Baysenbay (China)

Cello, dir. Angie Su (USA)

Best Visual Effects: What If, dir. Linda Gasser (Germany)


Princess Sparkly Butt and the Hot Dog Kid, dir. Brandon Lane (Canada)

Little Thing, Or Kan tor (Israel)

Rising Star Award: Han Dongjun, The Story of 90 Coins (China)


Alec Toller, Akela (United Kingdom)

Seishi Irimajiri, Borderline (Denmark)

Special Recommendation: Cello, dir. Angie Su (USA)
Special Recommendation: Princes Sparkly Butt and the Hot Dog Kid, dir. Brandon Lane (Canada)

Special Recommendation: Triumphant Reunion, dir. An Lan (China)